The Garland Symphony Orchestra continues its Season, “Vienna, City of Music!”

The Garland Symphony Orchestra will conclude its 2017-18 Season with a spectacular Season Finale performance, featuring pianist Alex McDonald performing Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2.

Since his orchestral debut at age 11, Dallas-local pianist Alex McDonald has soloed with the Orquesta Sinfónica del Estado de Mexico, the Louisiana Philharmonic, the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, and the Utah Symphony Orchestra, among others. He has performed across the United States as well as in Israel, Mexico, Canada, Japan, and South Korea; additionally, he has been a featured performer on PBS, WRR, NPR, and WQXR.

McDonald’s awards and fellowships include second prize at the 2007 New Orleans International Piano Competition and second prize at the 2001 Gina Bachauer International Young Artist Piano Competition. In 2008, he was named a Harvey Fellow by the Mustard Seed Foundation. In 2013, he was a participant in the 2013 Van Cliburn Competition.

Active as a chamber musician, McDonald is now the Festival Director for the chamber music summer series Basically Beethoven in Dallas, TX; his recent program “Music for Animals” was hailed by Theater Jones as one of its “Concerts of the Year” for 2016.

Dr. McDonald has taught at Texas Woman’s University, Richland College as well as at the Juilliard School, where he also was a Teaching Fellow for both the Literature and Materials and Piano Minor departments. Additionally, his private piano students have been admitted to Juilliard and Eastman, and have performed at Carnegie’s Weill Hall and on WRR. Deeply concerned about a healthy integration of life with music, he has actively pursued community formation both as an R.A. in the Juilliard residence hall and as president of Juilliard Christian Fellowship.

Dr. McDonald received his pre-college training under Lois Nielson, his bachelor’s degree from the New England Conservatory with Academic Honors and Distinction in Performance under Russell Sherman, and his master’s and doctoral degrees from Juilliard under Yoheved Kaplinsky and Julian Martin. His doctoral document, a source study on manuscripts and editions for Liszt’s Sonata in B Minor, has been cited in the most recent edition of the sonata by Alfred Publishers, edited by Nancy Bricard.

The Season Finale program also includes Beethoven’s Egmont Overture and Schubert’s tragically beautiful Symphony No. 4 in C Minor.

Garland Symphony Orchestra credits its Music Director, Robert Carter Austin, for its continued outstanding and diverse orchestral programming. Maestro Austin’s background encompasses over 30 years of professional music experience and includes degrees from MIT, Cambridge University, and Stanford University. Maestro Austin’s musical experience includes conducting performances in many countries including: Korea, Ukraine, Canada, Italy, Spain, China, France, Germany, Mexico, Bulgaria, Ecuador, Colombia, Philippines, Guatemala, Dominican Republic and the United States.

Single tickets are priced at $17.50, $27.50, and $37.50. All are available by telephone (972.926.0611), fax (972.926.0811), or email ( ). Group discounts are available; please call the Garland Symphony Orchestra office for more information (972.926.0611).

All concerts begin at 8:00PM at the Granville Arts Center, Brownlee Auditorium
300 N. 5th St.
Garland, TX 75040

For more information on the Garland Symphony Orchestra, please visit:

Submitted press release

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.