Members Recognized, Honored During Chamber Banquet

Over 180 members and guests gathered at Allure Restaurant on Thursday, January 12, 2011 for the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Awards and Member Appreciation Banquet. The event was sponsored by: American National Bank Texas, ANB Trust Department, Business Directories of Texas, the City of Rockwall, Ebby Halliday Realtors, Endodontic Specialists of Rockwall, Farmers Electric Cooperative, Hilton Bella Harbor, Lake Pointe Medical Center, My Computer Guy, Rockwall Economic Development Corporation, Rockwall Flower & Design Studio, Texans for Bob Deuell, Timpa Law Firm and TX Health Presbyterian Hospital – Rockwall.

After welcoming the business representatives, chamber members and community guests, Dana Macalik, Chamber President, recognized the outgoing Board Members and introduced the 2012 Board of Directors and she then introduced outgoing Chairman, Cheryl Dunlop who gave an overview of the successes for 2011. Cheryl Dunlop concluded her remarks with the introduction of the incoming Chairman, Cindy Tayem.

Cindy Tayem Rockwall Chamber of Commerce
Dana Macalik, Cindy Tayem and Cheryl Dunlop

Cindy Tayem was enthused to present the audience and the Rockwall Business Community with a few key points from the business plan of The Rockwall Chamber. She noted that the overall focus for 2012 would be member retention. The key objective for the campaign is to strengthen branding and endorse the benefits that a partnership with the Chamber will bring to any business, small or large.

Chamber Ambassadors, Stephen Straughan, Straughan Properties, and Sheila Hair, My Computer Guy, gave an overview of the new Chamber Ambassador Program and spoke of the importance the Ambassadors play in the success of the Chamber.

The awards were presented by outgoing Chairman, Cheryl Dunlop. The awards for 2011 were as follows:

• Chamber Partner Appreciation award: City of Rockwall
• Small Business Partner of the Year: Ebby Halliday Realtors
• Large Business Partner of the Year: Hilton Bella Harbor
• Spirit of Rockwall: Stephen Straughan, Straughan Properties, LLC
• Ambassador of the Year: Stephen Straughan, Straughan Properties, LLC
• Director of the Year: Cindy Tayem, Oncor Electric

Dana Macalik, Chamber President, Stephen Straughan and Cheryl Dunlop

A special Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Larry Parks, American National Bank,
for his outstanding, long-time commitment and support to the Rockwall Area
Chamber of Commerce and the Rockwall community as a whole.

Dana Macalik, Chamber President, then thanked everyone for their support and made her closing remarks.

Paula Kerr
Events/Public Relations Manager
Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.